By Himself

By Himself

Whitby to Robin Hood's Bay

I took the bus from Staithes to Whitby where it was raining heavily when I arrived. Nothing for it but to shelter in 'Monks Haven’ in the old town and tuck into a Whitby kipper and scrambled egg breakfast (my apartment in Staithes provides no breakfast and neither are there any cooking facilities, even though the original booking included breakfast delivered each evening in a cool bag).
Fuelled up, I struggled into my waterproof overtrousers and set off past Whitby Abbey on the 6 mile clifftop walk to Robin Hood’s Bay.
This was the first time I had seen any serious rain since I started this adventure 14 Days ago - I have been so lucky. The overtrousers came off after half an hour because I was getting just as wet from perspiration as i would from the rain and I made a mental note, not for the first time, never to buy Gortex clothing again.
I passed the Whitby Fog Horn and lighthouse, now a posh holiday rental; huge cliffs, home to hundreds of seabirds; more desolate humps of old alum mines; the 'Rocket Field’, a replica(?) of an early Breeches Buoy device and more hikers than usual because the Coast to Coast and Cleveland Way meet here with the C2C ending at Robin Hood’s Bay.
We had holidays in Robin Hood’s Bay 25(?) years ago and I went in search of the house we rented. I think I found it, 'Finisterre’, but it has been modernised a bit.
Whitby and RHB, with their rich geology and history are a magnet for school groups. Phalanxes of hi-vis pupils and weary teachers passed regularly.
I sat in a shelter by the slipway to draw this. I may colour it later but the Cod & Lobster menu needs to be studied for now.

About 6 miles today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.