By Himself

By Himself

Sherlock's, Whitby

Rain was forecast and arrived on time. I decided to get the bus into Whitby and spend the day sketching. Not the weather to sit outside so I found a few cafés and the beautiful St Mary's Church to work in. This is the wonderful Sherlocks, chock full of quirky stuff, dark and cosy. I loved it and their bacon breakfast bap. (Guilt level, 10/10, but it was only 9:00am, so 8/10 and it was my breakfast so completely innocent yer honour?)
Then a wander around the upper town, quiet at that time of morning, and into the Cranberry Swamp (it's a bistro but I think named after a real place) and another quick sketch looking through the windows of their big double doors.
Then over the swing bridge after waiting for a boat to pass through, into the old town, all Whitby Jet emporia, cobbles and touristy quaintness. 
Up the famous 199 heart thumping steps and into St Mary's Church, a wonder of Georgian architecture with its box pews, high pulpit and tiered gallery. I wanted to get up to the gallery but 'only when services are on' was the strict rule so I got permission to sit up in the chancel on a comfy chair to draw. I was pleased that I did a half decent job of the spiral columns I think. I guess that sketch took over an hour. It was wonderful in there with calming spiritual music in the background and the gently ancient cool of the old architecture. 
Lunch time found me in the Abbey Steps Tea Room and another sketch of their chintzy decor. 
A bus ride back to Staithes to pack for the start of my journey home tomorrow and on Friday: two buses and an overnight stay in Scarborough, then train to Manchester with a change at York before my flight back to Cork.
All today's sketches in extras. My pen walked 100s of miles today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.