By Himself

By Himself

Scarborough

To Scarborough by bus from Staithes via Whitby. I arrived much earlier than planned so had a full day to explore before my journey home tomorrow.
Scarborough is a mix of imposing hotel and villa edifices cheek by jowl with down-market attractions, entertainments and fast food with chips. Trading on the traditional holiday resort product, I thought it failed to capitalise on the remaining narrow streets, alleyways and  buildings of the ancient town hidden just behind the sea-front brashness, but now spoilt by inconsiderate modern red-brick insertions.
The castle covers a vast site atop the North Cliff. I escaped the vinegar wafted air of sea-front fish-n-chip emporia and climbed up to the peace and quiet of the site, tastefully manicured by English Heritage who were running a genteel wine and jam tasting table outside their tea rooms.
Back down by the old harbour, I sketched the gatehouse(?) which I think must be modern, next to the Luna Park funfair.
Another sketch from the quay is also in extras. I began to appreciate the town much more in the evening when it was quieter and most of the people had left. It has some very fine architecture dotted about.

Edit: have re-edited these and some back-blips to get better copies of the sketches which was difficult while away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.