By Himself

By Himself

Farewell to Yorkshire

A long journey back to Ireland from Scarborough to Cork via York and Manchester and a very welcome sight of Herself waiting at the airport to drive the final 1.5 hours back to West Cork with the familiar waft of shite fertiliser on the breeze.
I arrived at Scarborough station early enough to concentrate on this delicate complexity of iron and steel engineering and that grand clock ruling the trajectories of people off to their diverse destinations. 
I sat next to a man on the train who worked as a guide on long distance walking routes and had some fascinating tales to tell - the best about one woman who signed up for the Coast to Coast route (that's a two week trek) but refused to walk in puddles and had to be put on a bus back home. The mind boggles.
In extras is a sketch done on my second train from York to Manchester but the woman next to me didn't want to chat so I drew instead.
Back home now and everything is greener and more colourful than when I left.
Planning the next adventure already :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.