Stunned

I got my "proper camera" out this morning and got some fabulous photos of the crazy miss dancing in the rain. I was quite chuffed to have my blip "in the bag", processed and everything, by 7.45. Im putting one in the extras in fact. Why not the blip itself, you may (or may not....) ask. Well, this kid of mine pulled a blinder. One heck of a curve ball really.

On Thursday, B got a call inviting katie for an informal advice audition at Yorkshire Young Musicians. They describe themselves as an advanced centre for training extremely talented young musicians who are interested in pursuing music seriously. Katie was meeting with the director of the centre today. The lovely lady bounded up to Katie and shortly after took her away, with a happy katie who didn't even bat an eye lid. The lady returned half an hour later. She said "I'm just going to wait for Katie", who was packing up. When Katie came down, the lady handed me a form. She said "I would like you to fill this in. And when you send it back, I can tell you we won't want her to audition again. She's super. I think she's wonderful and doing so well". I had to have her clarify what she meant. They're offering Katie a place to start in September. Katie just stood there grinning, so very proud of herself. She said she's doing absolutely brilliantly and there's a fabulous clarinet teacher that she thinks will really suit Katie. She said she's going to think about the piano teacher for her. It's a full day of music each Sunday in term time. She was reminding katie of this and Katie's face was just thoroughly delighted at the prospect. I'm so proud of her.

I'm a bit of a jumble about it all though. The overwhelming feeling is firstly pride in this little beasty of mine who was a stroppy, feisty madam practising at home but absolutely knocked this lady's socks off in the audition. She had her play all her piano grade pieces and two of her clarinet, and katie was fabulous. But then I'm feeling a large measure of apprehension with a side order of tummy butterflies. It's such an incredible opportunity, but it's putting feet firmly on a slightly daunting path of serious training. It means giving over most of Katies training to people that aren't B. That scares me a lot. B set this up, she encouraged us that this is what Katie needs, but neither of us expected September. They're supposed to completely hand over to YYM, but B has said she will keep a close hand in Katie's journey and see her regularly to monitor how it's going. Its daunting me just a little though. Katie loves music so much, she loves B so much, B loves her. I don't want any of these things breaking. But this is such a good opportunity. And my girl has done so damned well; today, in her audition where she wasn't even slightly phased, and in the many many hours she's spent building up to this day.

I spoilt her a little after the audition. We FaceTimed B straight away, and we called Grandad. Then she scoffed most of a bag of beautiful fresh popcorn we had gotten earlier from the Food Fayre. I bought her a couple of reduced price Lego sets. She was bouncing along and I asked her if she was pleased with her Lego. "Well, I am but more im just so pleased about my audition".

We drove home and met up with a friend who treated katie to a hot chocolate with all the trimmings and a cookie (and I had a very tasty peach iced green tea). She skipped around the food fayre again (we'd passed this morning and she had done a full run of the free samples) and went home full of sugar, happies and smiles to build Lego. I said she could have pizza for tea but insisted on a large pile of salad vegetables! It took me til gone 830 to get her asleep.

So very very well done my BabyGirl. Your first audition and you absolutely nailed it. I couldn't be prouder of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.