Orchid

Today's the day ..................... to be fair chuffed

I'm inordinately proud of this little orchid that sits on the bathroom window sill.

I bought it a couple of years ago from the local supermarket.  I remember that it cost £5 which I thought was very reasonable for a thing of beauty with lots of flowers.  I have to admit that I know nothing about orchids and it was mainly chosen because it fitted in with the colour scheme of the bathroom at the time.

It flowered away in its little pot for many months - but eventually the flowers were all gone.  It still had its leaves and a couple of aerial roots but otherwise it looked as if it had come to the end of things.  I was just about to chuck it out when, fortunately, my friend Sue (who does know about orchids) came for the weekend.  She told me the things I thought were roots - were actually flower stalks.  And sure enough, a few months later, this is the result.

That this beautifully exotic flower can emerge from a plant growing in a teaspoon of soil and that has had no care or attention apart from a thimble of water now and then - I find quite amazing ...................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.