But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Leg.

About two and a half years ago, the local cyclist friendly garden centre and café closed, selling off anything movable at knock-down prices; so I bought one of their outside wooden display stands, knocked it down to get it in the car and took it home to store in my garage. Since it had stood outside in all weathers for many years without rotting, I considered it to be made of a durable wood and so would be useful. 

Anything that wasn’t movable, they sold to Lidl who were going to build (yet another) supermarket there; since then – nothing has happened.
 
In the intervening period, I have been turning the wood into beehive stands. Whoever built the original stands was not a skilled craftsman, an opinion of mine based on the fact that the ends of the timbers were not sawn off square; a fault that I have been rectifying on the four pieces that are to be the legs of my latest stand. You may notice that I am not a craftsman either. But at least this will be finished before Lidls start building their supermarket.

Thanks are due to SkiMe for hosting this Mono Monday challenge and coming up with the themes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.