Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Pink-Striped Oakworm Moth

Anisota Virginiensis - As soon as I found this happy pair I knew what my blip for today would be! They were there all day. They're still there.

Two extras - not sure if they'll be in this order, but I dare say you can figure out which is which:

1. The female moth as I first saw her, just emerged and opening her wings, and...
2. The female red-bellied woodpecker looking out at the world from up in her nest. Remember her? I would imagine she is now definitely sitting on eggs.

Edit - just now had the first bear visit of the year. I heard a clunk, the cat looked out the screen door and looked a bit alarmed, I got up to look and there was a bear that had just pulled the sunflower seed feeder down from the tree. I said "OH!" rather loudly and it ran off a ways. I closed the pet doors and then went out on the porch. He was coming back towards the feeders so I clapped my hands and said "GIT!!!" (as you do) and he did - ran down the hill and out of sight. Fortunately he didn't in anyway damage the feeder and actually hadn't even had a chance to eat a single morsel, I don't think. Feeders now safely stowed inside. Pet doors still closed for the time being. I guess bird feeding has ended for the time being!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.