JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Horse and Triton - Trevi Fountain

Today was the first day of our short break in Rome. We had to set off at an extremely uncivilized hour for an early flight but it was well worth it, giving us a full afternoon to enjoy in the city.

Our hotel was in an excellent location by the Piazza Barberini - very central and close to a metro station. We decided to spend the afternoon following a 'Walk around Bernini's Rome' from our guidebook, which went right past the hotel.

The walk was absolutely delightful, and not surprisingly I took countless photos, many of which I would have happily posted as a blip, so it has been really hard to choose just one. Towards the end of the walk we passed the Trevi Fountain, and the blip that I have chosen for today is a detail of part of the fountain's sculpture. It is one of the horses pulling the chariot of the god Ocean, and a Triton guiding the horse and blowing a twisted shell to announce their passage.

Although I had internet access on the holiday, I didn't have any means of getting the photos off the camera and onto a computer, so I now have a backlog of several days blipping which I will catch up on over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.