Red Winged Blackbird

I had a quiet day today which was welcome. Lynda had lots of phone calls to make so she was busy. I got a bunch of things done: made and received a few calls, did some business regarding Arvin's passing, answered many kind emails, and even took a short nap. In the afternoon I took a short walk even though it was gray and cold outside. I walked down to Scudder Pond to see what animals might be hanging out there. Most were napping but I did see quite a few of these beauties. During the walk I let some of the sadness creep in. It was fine to let myself relax into my grief a bit. I met a man and we talked. I told him about Arvin and he made up a song for him and sang it to me. It was a sweetly strange encounter. The song was simple and to the point. "Don't be afraid my friend, you are free" was the last line.

When I got home I called my dear friend Ginny, my roommate from college who lives in California. We had a lovely talk. While we talked I noticed out on the deck, a Pileated Woodpecker on one of the suet feeders. Then a female flicker came storming by and flew at the woodpecker to chase her away. She made several dive bombing runs and finally the woodpecker flew off. I would loved to have gotten a photograph of that but I was in mid conversation with Ginny. So I just looked and was amazed.

Lynda took me out to dinner at Wanida's, a local Thai restaurant that I like very much. We spoke of many things, none related to the business of the day or our moods. We just had a good time, enjoying the delicious meal and talking. It was a nice break.

Once more I'd like to thank you all for your kind words and thoughts. So far my feelings have been mostly of gladness for Arvin, though sadness does find its way in at times. All your kindness touches me and gives me comfort. So thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.