Black Headed Grosbeak

I am flabbergasted by all of your kind and thoughtful comments. Thank you so much for your love and support. And for all of the stars and hearts. It feels so good to be in a community of people who are so compassionate and caring. It makes a big difference.

I spent two hours at the cemetery talking to Brian, the same young man who worked with us five years ago to pick a green burial plot and have a large river rock engraved with our choice of inscriptions. We made arrangement for a green burial for Arvin. It will be a small family gathering to send Arvin on his way. Helena's friend Sheva will officiate. She is studying to be a rabbi and is happy to join us. She also works at Silverado so she knows Arvin well. I saw some photos of a green service and chose how I wanted it to be. It will be beautiful. The family burial will happen a week from today. 

On June 25 we plan to have a celebration of Arvin's life. That will be open to everybody who wants to attend. That will take place on June 25th in Bellingham. We haven't figured out all the details yet. There will be music, photos of Arvin, and a chance for all who want to, to celebrate his life with an anecdote or a story. Please come to join us if you live close enough to come by.

Arvin's daughter Lynda arrived from California by plane today. My brother Steve picked her up and the three of us went to Silverado to pick up all of Arvin's things. The boxes are now in our garage and I will get to them after things have calmed down a bit. 

Lynda and Steve stayed all evening. I was in the mood to cook so I made dinner for all of us. And we played and talked together. Meanwhile calls and emails came in from so many wonderful friends. I am taking my time to respond. I am finding that I am best when I take things as they come and don't worry about how soon I get to something. My feelings are mixed but mostly I am feeling relief for both Arvin and me, and happiness for his having moved to a better place. 

Again thank you all for your wonderful response to my announcement yesterday. You are an amazing group of caring people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.