Beam me down, Scotty

Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.

I'm in the polytunnel before 7 - there's no deadline quite like a pot-bound dwarf bean. But there's office work to be done too, so I do it.

We eat Angus' wild garlic gnocchi for lunch, with a tomato sauce and freshly grated Parmesan - vary nice, accompanied with a bag of salad greens from Phantassie.

I drop Megan at Maybury to catch a bus into town, while I hustle to the airport. She's going to visit Rachel & Gilbert tonight and I'm going to London.

I'm upset with BA for petty, personal reasons - they've misplaced the 'tier points' that would let me level up. Still, the flight is early and I beat the computer at cribbage, as contemporary commercial technology does its version of 'beaming me down' into the DLR.

I usually stay at my mother's flat in London, but tonight it's full of my sister-in-law's family, so I'm at the Hoxton in Shoreditch. The implacably hip veneer can't hide its fundamental hotel-ness - a desk with no plugs, a WiFi that *almost* works, a window that hardly opens. I bet Captain Kirk had a better designed cabin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.