Mystery bug

Sorry, yet another critter. Look away now, if you don't like bugs !
Found this rather big one near my insect hotel, wildly moving its legs as it lay on its back this morning. Got my camera and a  chopstick to gently turn it onto its legs and took a couple of shots. I have no idea what kind of beetle this is, which is a good link to tomorrow's optional Abstract Thursday theme: "What is it?" Do have fun creating an abstract that will have people wondering what they are seeing :-)

For Wild Wednesday with thanks to Cailleach, our host !

And thanks very much for your kind comments, stars and even hearts for yesterday's tiny spider

Edited to add that Madchickenwoman has identified it as a Maybug. Oops ! I hope it is and stays single ! Was looking them up on Wikipedia, who knew they were edible and used in soups !! I think I'll pass ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.