Wandering from the hut

A chance conversation last week has resulted in me volunteering to temporarily (maternity cover) be the warden for one of my climbing clubs hut in Langdale.
So today with little motivation to do any office work I took advantage of Cumbria having a dry forecast and wandered over to familiarise myself.
It's a very very basic hut - and the duties are far from onerous - so I had a tidy - made a note of some dripping pipes to fix and changed the protective sheets on the mattresses - then I put the kettle on and sat on the steps soaking in the view whilst Pushka explored the garden below me (the hut is the top floor of a dilapidated byre).

Brew finished both the view and Pushka's enthusiasm were too nice to waste - so we had a wander around Blea Tarn. Even on a moody overcast day the vista across the tarn onto the unmistakable Langdale Pikes must be a contender for finest view in England.

In extras I've added one of my favourite little plants (& I'm pretty sure I've got this right lol) Pinguicula vulgaris, Butterwort - a lovely little insectivorous plant, which apparently is relatively rare in England but locally common here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.