Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Let Freedom Ring

I had so many things I could have blipped today, but I decided to keep it simple. I took this picture of our country's flag, flying at half mast outside the Visitor Center at Kittatinny Valley State Park. I went there today to spend some quite time walking around the lakes and visiting their butterfly garden. This is a day that is sad and unsettling for me, as it is for many people. And I really wanted to try to do something positive today...

Remember I mentioned that one of the house finches has finch-eye-disease in both eyes and was having a hard time getting around? Well, last night at dusk, she got into an empty window-mounted feeder and hunkered down, all puffed up and pressed against the window. She was still there this morning and my heart was just breaking as I looked at her with her eyes nearly swollen shut, scared and shivering. I got online and found the number of an Avian Rescue group here in my county, called them, and talked to the director. She said if I could trap the finch and bring her in, they could treat her and hopefully get her well enough to return her to the wild. My heart was leaping with hope at this point - so out I went to try to get her out of the feeder. Just as I was about to get her, she took off and flew to our second story roof. I spent another hour trying to figure out how to get her down, nothing. Then, she flew into the woods and I thought that was the end of it.

When I got back from my walk in the park, I went out on the deck and startled a bunch of birds that were eating seed - one of them flew into the netting on our gazebo and was clinging there. It was HER!!! So I grabbed a towel and carefully scooped her off the netting and got her into a box. I just called the rescue place and left a message for them to call me back as soon as possible. If all goes well, I will be able to drive her up there this afternoon or evening. Keep your fingers crossed. Being able to save this little bird, on today of all days, would mean so much to me.

So that is how I spent this day --- communing with nature and rescuing a sick bird. Oh, and I also took some pictures of that huge black and yellow spider by the lake that I've posted in Folio - this isn't for the faint of heart since this giant is busy readying not one, but two bees for later consumption. All shots taken with Big Daddy from a distance of 8 feet. My skin is still crawling...

On this day, I wish you all peace and happiness...

Post Script: I have just returned from taking "Hope" to the avian rehab lady who says that she thinks she may have been injured, rather than the eye disease. She is going to check her out more thoroughly tonight and determine what kind of antibiotics to give her. I can call tomorrow and get an update on how she is doing. Keeping fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.