Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A day to remember

For many of us, September 11 is a day to remember, a day to never forget. And it is a day that was, for the first 4 or 5 years, one that made me weep. Time does, indeed, heal most wounds, even ones as horrific as this day in American history.

So I set out today to concentrate on living. I met up with fellow Blipper Musings who lives here in the Portland area. We met (with my parents) at a wetlands area where we spent several totally wonderful hours photographing, birding and visiting. And we were fortunate enough to see a huge gathering of Great White Egrets, at least 200, probably more. They were obviously a migratory group who'd stopped here for rest and food.

This photo is not great as it was taken at full zoom and hand held, but it gives you an idea of the size of the flock. Mixed in with the egrets were 20-30 great blue herons, hundreds of ducks, geese, coots and grebes and several cormorants. Sherrie and I were firing off shots like a couple of seasoned paparazzi! Mom and Dad were geo-caching and chuckling a bit at Sherrie and I and our photographic antics. It was a totally life-affirming morning.

After lunch, we headed to another wetlands where we saw wood ducks, spiders, cedar waxwings, a kingfisher and Anna's hummingbirds. By early afternoon the heat was approaching 90 and we decided to call it a day - sweaty, tired, and thoroughly satisfied with ourselves!

If you are interested, I posted six shots on Flickr, including one of Sherrie and I, looking like a couple of pro wildlife photographers. Check out my snazzy safari hat! Click HERE

Tomorrow the Hubs will be joining us - will be so good to see him after a week apart.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.