Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Wild Wednesday - Pagoda

In case you are wondering, I am very much still in Dubai!

So today, after dropping G off to work, I had organised to meet with a lady from church/the bible study to give her the gift of a Planetshakers CD. She told me where she lived, so not a problem to find her place, but I could not believe it when I arrived on her street, to find she lived near the Pagoda!!

This building has been here since the 70s and up to the 90s, you could see it from the main road. Then, in the time of Dubai's maniacal development, they built a housing estate right in front of it. Not nice, as in my tour guide days, I always pointed it out to my guests when we drove past.

It turns out that the person who owns this Pagoda is also the landlord of my new friend. She lives in a gorgeous old villa which is full of character. I would love to have taken pictures of her home, but I don't know her well enough to even ask!

Had enough time to pop into Dubai Mall to get a few things done before collecting G again. And in the evening, we went along to the Salvation Army service where I saw a sousaphone for the first time in my life (see extra). These instruments are so heavy, they've changed the design to have the large parts made of plastic instead of brass, which brings the weight down from 25 to around 12kgs!

I think today, both my pictures qualify for Cailleach's Wild Wednesday!

And it was 17.5.17 today and G beat everyone in the date group. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.