Sunset over the Severn Vale

I fell asleep watching tv after eating supper this evening, and woke to find Bomble on my lap. The curtains weren't drawn so I could see there were colours in the sky, which was quite a surprise as it had been pouring with rain nearly continuously for twenty-four hours. 

I forced myself up and went upstairs to get my camera, loaded the recharged battery and went outside in some slippers which were not waterproof. Within seconds my feet were feeling wet and I quickly took a few pictures of the sun setting in the west through the gap in the Cotswold hills. This was formed by the River Frome's action in the ancient geological times when its erosive power cut through the escarpment to flow west and out into the River Severn and then down to the present day Bristol Channel.

I must admit this is a bit of an emergency blip again, but hey ho, life can be like that sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.