A surprising flower in the cabin

I watered the pot plants on the patio this morning and decided that I should bring all the potted plants, which are living in the garden cabin, out for a drink and a wash. Most of them are cacti or succulents which like warm dry conditions. 

I was surprised that several were in flower even this early in the year. The biggest surprise was the epiphyllum which I have been growing for more than a decade. I tend to under water it and generally give it a hard time, which it seems to withstand well. Last year it had a profusion of big red flowers and this year it is doing the same.

I put the pot on the patio table so that its four foot long leaves could hang. Touching them is a nightmare as they have very small prickly spines. But seeing its lovely red flower I forgave it and before i returned it to the cabin at teatime, I took a few pictures  for posterity and blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.