Dolly on Vesuvius

We took the train down to Pompei first thing, but before we visited the ruins we took a trip up Vesuvius! You get driven most of the way up on a regular bus, switching to a 4x4 bus for the really, really bumpy bit! The view from where the bus drops you was already pretty good, but a short walk up to the top and you get to see the whole of the bay of Naples! The view was pretty spectacular, and the volcano wasn't bad too, although for an active volcano there were no obvious signs, I was hoping for a little bubbling lava, that sort of thing! ;) We headed back down and into the ruins of Pompei, quite something to see! There is so much there I actually think we could have spent the whole day there, as it is I know we didn't see everything! Some parts of it a quite well preserved, and the interiors of a few building are remarkable! It was interesting to see, and I will definitely have to come back again! We are planning to go to the museum on Saturday, apparently some of the better preserved artefacts are there! Train back to Naples for some dinner, surprise surprise, we had pizza! Pizza frittata, Napoli style, it was amazing, but I think tomorrow I will have to have something different or I will turn into a pizza! We did do 27000 steps, or 13 miles, today, that's got to have worked some of it off, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.