The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Green light letter

After having been qualified as a playworker for some time, I underwent a gruelling interview with an OFSTED inspector in March this year, to check if I was a "suitable person" to run the afterschool club near Gloucester in my boss' absence.

I passed the interview, but by the time the letter came through, in June, the club was in the process of folding, and OFSTED had announced that they were abolishing suitable person checks from September 2012!

To add insult to injury, after having filled out medical forms as well as answering detailed questions, OFSTED forgot to send me a copy of the letter, and my boss forgot to tell me! So I finally got my letter with about two weeks of term left.

I now have a new job, for which I have been deemed suitable by the headteacher and chair of governors. No one will ever want to see this letter again, but I photographed it (apparently while drunk) because all my life I have been told I am UNsuitable in one way or another, so I can see the delicious irony here.

This was taken with my old camera, which had a macro, but I am ashamed to say that I never learned to use it until I started blipping a bit later on. Then I dropped the camera, but that is another story (see 7 August). My new camera has a "documents" setting for occasions such as this.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.