gennepher

By gennepher

Since very early...

...I have been listening to birdsong and identifying. I have the beginnings of a few more bird sounds. But more listening yet.

It is now 14.27, and I have been out here all this time on my thatched swing, since 5 am...oops blackbird alarm call as I am writing ...

It was 2 crows fighting mid air. They locked horns (probably beaks), wings fully outstretched, and it looked like a downward spiral plunge to death. They were still locked together (and plunging) less than 3 metres/yards(ish) above the ground, in this locked plunge. Then I cannot see over my bamboo. A few minutes later, neither have flown upwards. And there is no noise of fighting.

I need more listening for my bird sounds, cos there are a few more bits I need to capture.

So today is not feathered birds, but those metal birds of the sky. I heard one aeroplane, and then another and I realised they were quite different. So I got a plane app. Looked at the next plane going over, and drew a sketch of the sound, and lifted my app to the sky.

Definite ID.
Boeing 737-8AS
Prestwick to Malaga
Flight number FR655
Ryanair
35,000 feet exactly and he maintained that height perfectly over the next few minutes.
This one was more of a pulsing sound.

So the next one, the bottom pic, aimed phone app to sky.
Definite ID.
Bombardier DHC-8-Q-402
Belfast to Southampton
Flight Number BE981
Flybe
24,000 feet exactly and he maintained that while I track him the next few minutes


Sometime later I hear another aeroplane, and it sounds just like my picture of the Bombardier again. So I check and it was. This one was Belfast to West Midlands but this plane was varying its height. It went from
19,871 to
20,050, then down to
19,990, then down to
18,991, then up to
19,871, then up to
20,021
then down again
and up to just over the 20,000 mark again

The plane was about 80 miles as the crow flies from its eventual landing strip. I know nothing about aeroplanes and I have never been in one, but watching that made me feel airsick...

I couldn't watch that one any more. But on my app watched other planes come in to land at Liverpool and Manchester and even Belfast and they all were pretty smooth looking flights and landings.

So this is my pic today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

I will soon be able to ID the iron birds now!

[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

Oh!!!
By the way!!!
With this new mapping on my processor I can actually hear the door bell now!!!
I heard my doorbell this morning!!!!
You have no idea how many anguish hours I have spent waiting in the front garden so I wouldn't miss parcels, or sitting by the front window not to miss a repair man and lots lots more.
This new mapping will make life tons easier. It is like I have wasted so much time on various things in the last 7 odd years to try and cope, when the actual mapping of the processor could have been much better in the first place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.