Kingfisher

Well, I'm glad I went out on Morrigan this morning to have a go with the kingfishers at Slimbridge Wildlife and Wetlands Trust, because, well, read on. But I was very put out when I got there to find the staff had screwed closed the slat windows in the kingfisher bird hide!!! Shooting through fly infested glass doesn't give one the best images. Get it right, folks.

So I took a fair few pictures, some now on Flickr, but most of them were pants. That's ok, I thought, the Flying Scotsman is coming through the village this evening, and that will be my blip.

It seemed half the village had turned out to photograph the 60103, and we waited with baited breath as the time for the fly-through came, and went, and so did the evening light... It appears scallywags were afoot on the rails, further up the track, and all movements had halted. The rails were quiet, for the longest time.

Then, just as the crepuscular light took us well beyond even the highest useable ISO, she came through. I didn't try for a pic, but my eye caught the fantastic image of the engine roaring by with golden flame glowing from the firebox and every window ablaze. Ah well, next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.