CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

60103 – Flying Scotsman at Standish Junction

I drove to the far side of Stroud, out onto the Severn Vale to join the throngs awaiting the passage of 'Flying Scotsman'. I know a lot of people enjoy seeing steam engines working on the railways, but i was taken aback at how many were truning out, lining bridges and any vantage points.

I chose to go to the track side at Standish Junction where a foot crossing allows us access where the line through Stroud to Swindon separates from the main north-south railway from Birmingham to Bristol.

The train was late and wasn't travelling fast. In fact it halted about half a mile north of where I stood which did allow me to see the energetic start of this venerable old engine. Unfortunately as it was running at least twenty minutes behind schedule (delayed by the presence of too many people on the trackside further south, as I later found out on the BBC news!) the light was fading very fast as the sun had already set.

I hope to see it in the middle of the day next week when my sister , Rosie, will be travelling from Bristol to Gloucester and back in the same circular route as today's run. I have added a closer view of the engine driver and fireman leaning out as they passed me, the fireman's face looking suitably sooty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.