Rissa's World

By MarissaMichelle

Mekong Delta tour

So today is the first day in Vietnam. The tour starts off in Ho Chi Minh City but since we don't meet up until 6pm I signed up for a separate day tour of a part of the Mekong Delta. After waking up way too early on way too little sleep we headed off for a 2 hour bus ride south. There we got into a boat to get to a island in the middle of the river where we had honey tea (one third honey two thirds tea in a shot glass). As we left we had the opportunity to hold a python. So I figured why not. And held the python. It was bigger than me. 

Next we got into little four people boats and played bumper boats down one of the smaller rivers intersecting the island. Just a suggestions, keep your fingers inside the boat at all times... After that we visited a place were they make candy with coconut. I might have bought some with coconut and peanuts..... Finally we had a local lunch. 

On our way back it started storming and it was fascinating to see the road turn into a river and see the hundreds of motorcycles fight the buses and cars through it. There seam to be no rule for the road. motorcycles weave in and out of traffic, over the sidewalk, go the wrong way down the road and generally do what they want with no regard to anyone else. 

In the evening I meet with my group for the first time. After dinner I went back to my room and I think the culture shock finally hit me. I had been so proud of myself during the first part of the day. I tried new things, talked to everyone in the day tour, was doing really well. But after meeting the group emotionally I kinda just fell. And between that, the heat and the stress of the last few day of good-byes I just broke down. Traveling is amazing but it is also mentally and emotionally draining. And today really reminded me of that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.