RNSO Amadeus live

I was very lucky to be online on Wednesday night when my friend Sam posted on Facebook that she could no longer use her tickets to see the Royal Scottish National Orchestra play Amadeus Live this evening. Mr hazelh and I gladly took Sam's seats in row G tonight to watch the film and listen to the live music.

I've seen the film a couple of times before (the first time in Paris on 8th July 1985, according to my 1984/85 diary), but it is such a long time since I last watched it that I had 'forgotten' enough to enjoy the plot, music, and dialogue. It was also very interesting to watch the conductor directly in front of us on stage and compare his movements with those of the conductors in the film whenever there was a scene set in an auditorium. Back in 1985 I recognised that Mozart died very young. However, it was only tonight that I considered all those compositions that might have been had he lived longer.

I have spent the rest of the day on campus: a project meeting; supporting PhD students - two supervisions, two funding proposals, and arrangements for two vivas  - for 5 students in total; plus a smattering of email for good measure. It also looks like we have confirmed access to a large company for one of the PhD students to collect data for her empirical study. This is good news to end the week.

Exercise today: walk to work, walk from work to Usher Hall (16,747 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.