Classic American Diner, Breezewood, PA

Earlier this week, my husband's favorite aunt passed away at the age of 92. Aunt Sue had lived a good, long life. She had taken care of and fed and looked after many; had been a blessing to all of those and many more. She and her husband had run a fishing and crabbing business on the Chesapeake Bay for many years, and so that's where we headed on this day for her funeral service and interment.

My husband and I made plans to meet my mother-in-law in Altoona at 6:15 in the morning. We planned to drive down and back in one day, rather than spending the night. So my husband and I left our house at 5:30 a.m. on this day, which is rather early for me. The alarm was set for 4:45 a.m.; even the cat was shocked to see us up and mobile at that hour!

My mother-in-law wanted a milkshake for breakfast, and so shortly after 7 a.m., we stopped very briefly for a rest stop at the Classic American Diner (yes, that's its actual name!) in Breezewood, PA. It turns out the ice cream machine was broken (what's a diner without milkshakes, hmm?), but we did have a few minutes for a quick rest stop before we got back on the highway heading south and east.

And when I say quick, I mean it. I took my camera along in with me (of course), hoping to get some shots. And I did. I had just under THREE MINUTES to try to capture this place. I happily did my best, and you may find one additional photo in the extras. My experience gave me the idea for an assignment for a photography class.  :-)

The Three-Minute Roadside Diner Photography Challenge 
You have three minutes at a roadside diner you have never visited before. This time includes your bathroom break. Two other people with you are clamoring to get back in the car as quickly as possible so they can get this show on the road, as there are many, MANY miles before you on this day-long trip. Your job is to capture the venue as best you can, including (or excluding) any people at the diner, such as patrons and wait staff. Post your best six shots. 

From there, we traveled around the D.C. beltway, arriving at the service at least a half-hour early. (We found out later that everyone there had been betting we wouldn't make it on time.) The service was very nice, and proper respects were paid, as this fine lady was laid to rest.

Thunderstorms were expected later in the afternoon, and we looked at the clock: if we left right after the service, we could make it around the beltway before Friday night rush-hour traffic. So, with regrets, we left before what I'm sure was a delicious potluck meal at the local fire hall.

We made just three stops on the way back: one stop for gas for my mother-in-law's car, one stop for a very late lunch at Bob Evans (which turned out to be our only meal of the day), and one stop at the outlet stores in Hagerstown, Maryland.

My mother-in-law drove on the way down. My husband drove on the way back. I was chief navigator, the one with the maps and instructions. In the end, my husband and I were in the car driving for 10 hours out of this day. We are grateful for the life of Aunt Sue. We are also thankful for safe travels.

The song to accompany this image of a classic American diner is Suzanne Vega, with Tom's Diner.

Bonus . . . here's another diner image from Blip: Ye Olde College Diner, in State College, PA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.