Passage Of Time

Trees are a great indicator of the passage of time.  We plant them as little seedlings or sometimes, most often, nature does.  

We built our house 23 years ago on what was considered "old growth" forest in these parts.  Immigrants came to New Hampshire a few hundred years ago and cut trees and tried to farm this land as they had in their native countries, mostly Europe I believe.  This glacial soil (I'm talking boulders) was not easy and then the growing season didn't cooperate with it's marginal 3 months of real growing time.  So they turned to dairy cattle and horses and had a little more success.  

At any rate, that was to explain how new our old growth is - our little acre of land was cleared completely to build a house, but we are surrounded by the forest on all sides.  The trees we planted too close to the house have been cut and replanted and are getting too big again.  

So for the Experimental Photography theme this week, I gave ALOT of thought to how I could use the techniques we've covered so far - I had lots of ideas, but putting them to work wasn't easy.  I even signed up for Photoshop, something I keep telling myself I don't have time to learn, and tried to take a crash course - it didn't work.  I'm more confused by it than ever, but I have a year's commitment, so I will learn the basics.  So, I've used Image Overlay of my front lawn which gets cut on a regular basis with an old oak tree that has grown, been cut and rotted from the trunk inward - the passage of time.  With many thanks to Markus_Hediger for his very challenging and thought provoking themes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.