RJG

By RJG

Fishguard Fort

Today was the occasion of the Fishguard rowing races. These events take place around our coast all summer and are very popular . I really should have known better ,and left home probably an hour earlier than I did, as on such a pleasant day the crowds had turned out so parking anywhere near the yacht club proved impossible. This meant plan B, and I parked on the cliffs at Penyaber where I would get uninterrupted of the starting line. However I am easily distracted and while I was waiting for a race to start, they were on Pembrokeshire time or just running late, I shot this view of the ancient Fishguard Fort. Originally developed to keep Pirates out of the Bay . It became the home of the garrison that caused the invading French ships to turn round and land their troops in a far from ideal bay further around the coast, after firing one blank shot across their bows. The story goes that they only had 6 cannon balls in the store anyway. Four of the cannon are still site on the site so well worth a visit. I have no idea who won the race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.