lemonzest

By lemonzest

Water Meadow

I have just been mowing some of this so I need to make this entry quickly and check myself for ticks which are probably plentiful again.

Much as it is hard work, the smell of the meadow is aromatic and sometimes it teems with life. Yesterday that's how it was and I managed to catch a woodpecker, nuthatches and a few dragonflies. Today no such luck, just a few feathers drifting down the short river Kunisianka with a few early autumnal leaves. There was a profusion of water skaters but I've already posted one.

I noticed evidence of elk and birds of prey at the water's edge. In case you are wondering, the main reason is to preserve the habitat of several bird species and also orchids which grow here. A water mill used to stand at this site, and I'm told that a film was made here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.