Rain, Again

Now that it's 17:30 on Sunday, the rain has stopped and the sun has come out.

Oh well, I was needing a quiet day anyway.

After yesterday's lunchtime foodfest, it was back to routine today. Cromal cheese (from Ardersier, near Inverness), bread from the farm shop over the hill, some very exotic butter all the way from Wales, and apple & chilli jelly from Abernethy, near Perth.

All delicious too. Apologies for all the food miles in the butter. It was the only unsalted they had.

I think I may have been a bit inaccurate in my Blip yesterday. The Oxford English Dictionary (which must be the fount of all knowledge when it comes to Gaelic words used by Scots when speaking English) tells me that "sassenach" is derogatory.

I'm shocked. No, really.

It comes from the Gaelic word for a Saxon - sasunnoch. The German word for Saxony is Sachsen. Isn't language interesting?


Yes, it has been a rainy Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.