Manicure

Today I took Mum's old varnish off, filed her nails and applied new sparkly pink varnish. I asked her if she'd like me to do it and she actually gave me her hand. She was more responsive today than yesterday. When I arrived at 3 my Aunty Bonnie had been there since 11.30 and was just leaving, My Aunty Jojy and Uncle Chris and my brother Tom were all there, Tom had bought me some sleepy tea which is very sweet of him. We listened to some classical music and I also took in a couple of scripts Mum had worked on for everyone to look at, 84 Charing Cross Road and The Killing of Sister George all her lines marked in yellow and lots of notes on the pages and extra notes in her handwriting. 
Jojy asked Mum if it was nice having her family around and she nodded. I asked her if it was nice listening to us all chatting and she nodded.
We are all feeling less emotional, we have cried so much and none of us can really believe Mum is still here after a whole week with no food, fluids or medication, this last week feels like months... Jo and Chris have been at 3 Death beds and say that Mum is by far the calmest.
We all left about 3.30, Tom went to the station and Jo and Chris dropped me home and came in for tea.
An evening of tv and wine ensued.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.