Smokey

By Smokey

Sulphur Crested White Cockatoo seeks breakfast

It was probably about 7.30 this morning and the early light was quite wonderful in the trees at the start of what promises to be a warm and sunny day. The sulphur crested cockatoos descended at the far end of the garden - this was just one of several. These are birds I certainly don't encourage closer to the house as they can be quite destructive in their search for food. People I know have complained about them ripping into softwood trims on homes with their powerful beaks - my external timbers are all hardwood so much more difficult to rip into but I still don't want them too close. However, they are just trying to survive, as are we all, and I can accept they have a certain beauty from a safe distance. The extra shows two birds in the tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.