angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

nearly drizzled rather than grizzled

...today's bright start quickly deteriorated into very wet and windy conditions so it was good that I took my usual early morning stroll in the olive groves. The lack of any real sunshine meant that my target subject will have to wait, so I have chosen to blip a skipper. Twice.

These Grizzled Skippers Pyrgus malvae are all over the meadows and groves and I have been particularly taken by how variable they are. The problem with Grizzleds is that there is a plethora of similar species and many of the species have several subspecies. Consequently, I have named and renamed and debated exactly which species this/these is/are and have settled on the id above until someone tells me different! I have included two images to demonstrate how different they can appear...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.