Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Drip, Splash

I love this photo.  Not because it's the best shot of a hummingbird I've ever gotten.  It's not.  And it may be a tad over-processed; but I needed to be a little extreme with contrast.  If you look closely at the Red Yucca flower from which she's drinking, you might be able to see a wee drop of nectar.  Below it, you might catch a glimpse of nectar splashing off of the hummingbird's wing. Look at all the yellow on her bill.  That's pollen from having poked into various flowers.  We think of bees being the great pollinators but hummingbirds do a great job, too. I intentionally left the cobwebs in to give the shot a sense of perspective.

It's starting to get un-Godly hot now.  I believe it hit 100°/38° today.  I was out for several hours midday.  Even though some of that time was indoors, I suffered my first (and hopefully last) bout of heat exhaustion of the season.  I ran out of water.  I'm feeling much better now after laying down, cranking up the a/c, wrapping myself in cool cloths and sipping water for the last 4 hours.  Time to crack out the cooler and ice packs so I can travel with at least a half dozen bottles. I need a minimum of 1L per hour - and lots of places to use the restroom.

My great thanks to Blouseybrown for linking me to the Stylish addon with the original grey blipfoto background.  I can now enjoy the site again.  I also wish to thank everyone for their stars and comments lately.  I apologize for not replying to your very thoughtful comments for a while.  Hopefully, removing the stress from my eyes will allow me to spend more time online.  x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.