CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Thar she blows', again

I managed to find a new vantage point for watching steam trains locally at Stanley Downton, a small area to the west of Stroud. I thought I might be alone but of course a motley gaggle of steam train spotters appeared, all in their dotage, but they weren't only men.

We were awaiting the re-appearance of the famous 'Flying Scotsman' steam engine for its second trip in a few days on a circular route around the Severn Estuary. Today it was able to run at a proper speed and was all the more impressive for that. It was just a shame that the sun was hidden behind thick clouds again.

I was feeling quite affected by the news I heard late last night about the bombing in Manchester, so it felt hard to be in a celebratory mood. I just wish there was something we can do to prevent such crazy madness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.