briocarioca

By briocarioca

Yes, we have no... (A running dialogue)

I was up early to finish my translation, and so concentrated on it that when Ronaldo and his mate turned up to start the renovation work, it took me by surprise. The weather has been bad for a few days, the sky was leaden, and though they moved plants to make room for the scaffolding, it didn't turn up till just after they'd given up and gone home. Now we'll have just to see what the weather looks like tomorrow.
Translation dispatched and on to the usual paper-pushing, so by the time I was ready to try my hand at SkiMe's Mono Monday challenge, it was already dark. I don't usually venture out into the road with the DSLR, let alone in the dark, so thought I'd have to find something in our vila (mews). Right outside the front door, I thought the scaffolding parts stacked against the wall might work, then noticed my shadow was thrown onto them and figured that might add interest, so I shuffled back and forth to find the best angle, then clicked away. Results disappointing though, so I binned them later. On out past the car, not finding much inspiration in the scene lit by our strong mustard-yellowish street lights till I spotted a bike, minus its saddle, propped against the wall in the shadow of our disagreeable neighbour's big black SUV. Hmm, looked promising. There was maybe too much shadow, but some interesting shapes cast by spiky plants. I'd have liked more spiky shapes, but the semi-circular patterns on the wall were rather dominant and in sharp relief. There was also a slice of almost neon green light from the spotlight on the plants beyond the SUV. Anyway, I took a few shots and quite liked the results.
Round the corner on the way to the gate, one of our youngest residents was perched on his father's mega motorbike. His mother was propping him up, but moved back to let me click away. Somehow it didn't feeI right though (he's a nice little kid, but a bit pasty-faced), so I switched to colour to have something to show the proud Mum. On to the gate, stuffing the camera into my shoulder bag - too small for purpose - and wondering if I'd dare bring it out. The street was dark, though, and there was nothing to bring it out for till I reached the corner and spotted the grumpy man selling bananas (I never buy from him, he's too crotchety, there are far nicer sellers around and his bananas are overpriced anyway). Still, I asked if I could take his photo and he agreed, maintaining a glum expression as he gazed down at his wares. Then I realized I wasn't in B/W mode, so switched back, all the time feeling a right twit, this elderly gringa taking weird photos and getting in people's way as they rushed for home. Still, just as I was stuffing the camera back in my bag, a man stopped to buy and I got one more hurried shot, which I think is marginally better than the bike shots.
A few more shots in the pet shop, where I was fascinated by the hermit crab scurrying along in the aquarium. Those didn't come out well, but I quite liked a square box with cartoon-type pictures of cats on the side and big round holes (presumably for them to jump in and out of). It was standing on top of a large pile of dog food sacks, with cages and things in the background, and made for quite a decent mono photo - but the banana man it is. On the way home, I took a couple of hurried shots of two men deep in conversation 'behind bars', outside a small café. I thought it might look as if I was spying on them (private detective?) and didn't want them to look up and catch me at it - I was also being watched with suspicion by people in the entrance of the neighbouring building, so I rushed it and the photo is out of focus, but I still kinda like it, so here it is as an extra.
Many thanks to SkiMe for hosting this challenge and setting such interesting assignments - how about carrying on next month, SkiMe?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.