Friday Foto

By drmackem

Almscliffe Cragg Up Close and Personal

Visitors to my blip pgaes may recognise this lump of rock, usually taken from 12miles away with a big zoom as it rests on the horizon outside our front door. I worked out today that it is 23years since I got out and up on these crags, though I must have driven past a hundred times.
In Harrogate today doing some teaching I found myself driving back and thought I'd scramble up on this gritstone torr, the 360 degree views over surrounding Yorkshire are quite something.

I had an image in my head as I parked up, and on the way back down, the sun was briefly kind breaking through and illuminating the rocks for a few minutes and this is what I was after - 4 photo stitched panorama of the Torr.

These pages are part journal for me so though I don't know what to say i felt I should acknowledge something important to me about the news. As I drove to and from Harrogate today the news about the Hillborough "inquiry" was revealed on the radio. After a fair bit of drum beating and with some justification for our Olympics, we do well to remember it is not wise to be proud too much and for too long. With what feels like the beginings of truth telling about the disaster 23 years ago, I hope this is the beginning of some degree of healing for those who have suffered and that the shame of the cover up will lead to more honesty and integrity in our country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.