Saudades

Using over-exposure and lots of running back and forth between my camera on a tripod and sitting in the chair with my phone, attempting Markus' challenge of a self-portrait. Am trying to show the rather dreamy state of half my soul still being in the UK with my kids and grandkids, while my body is here. 

The bombing in Manchester on the day we left so made me want to be close to them. Said to my youngest, who is in Manchester, "Why are we here so far away from you?" Her answer got copied down by her Dad, "We're all in our different places, trying to help a broken world, which is the best thing we can be doing." So true.

And I'm grateful for a family to miss, technology which links us so well, and for the way we've been enfolded (HarlingDarling's word) back into this community. Stayed late last night at the restaurant, talking to Sr Zé, who bemoaned the state of the town, "It's dead", he said; he's lost hope. We talked about hope, "It can turn around", said I... As we walked away, his parting words were, "Hope your dreams for Mourão come true."

Amen.

And in a bit, we'll go follow Barrioboy's advice and walk round the town to settle in better.

By the way, if you have't read Beewriter's account of the love shown in Manchester, take the time to do it - it's worth it!

Also, thanks so much for all the responses to yesterday's blip of joining hands, virtual or otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.