Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Spider, Lesser Garden variety!

Oh boy, what a cracking little spider! And I was so sure I knew what it was... I found this spider beside its web which was stretched between two unopened lily flower buds. My initial attempt to identify it using my copy of the Field Studies Council guide suggested a good fit to the species Metellina segmentata, given several common names: Lesser Garden Spider, Autumn Spider (the adults appear between August and October) or the Common Orb Weaver. But then I checked Michael Robert's Collins Guide to the Spiders of Britain and Northern Europe. Apparently, the only way to distinguish between Metellina segmentata and Metellina mengei is to compare their genitalia. So that's that - a Metellina from one of two species. And tiny but beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.