Starting a New Painting

It was time to start a new painting and when I was looking through my photographs this is the one that made me pause. I was looking at another and Trish asked me which most affected my motions. No contest. The other was a landscape. So this is going to be us together. Arvin will be a bit ethereal. Today I was just working on the dark and light passages. This painting is all about our faces and hands. And how we are one unit. It didn't make me sad at all as I began to work on this. I'm showing the original photo, the thumbnail drawing I did (with Trish's help) of the passages of dark and light, and the beginning of the painting. It is 22 by 28 inches. I am going to enjoy working on it I believe. It will give me a chance to celebrate our love and to grieve.

Tonight I am on my own and it feels good. I am relaxing, doing my blip, and having a lovely text conversation with one of the two cousins who was here for Arvin's funeral. Though I loved being surrounded by my wonderful family and friends, I am enjoying an evening by myself.

You all were so amazing during this past week and a half. I felt surrounded with friendship and love from all over the world. It is surprising how much virtual friendships can mean, especially here where people really are "excellent" in the way we are encouraged to be on Blip. Thank you so very much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.