Lilac Towel Day

There are days more redolent of literary energy than others. Where the narrative extends well beyond the book covers. Where words invented inside the mind of the author leak out of the pages and into contemporary language. It happened for Shakespeare; it happened for Douglas Adams and P'Terry too. 

The 25th May is twice blessed in this fashion. As Douglas Adams' "Towel Day" and as Terry Pratchett's memorial to the Glorious Revolution.

If these themes mean nothing to you, I'm sorry. It doesn't mean you're a bad person. It simply means you haven't lived inside my head the way I have. The Hitch Hikers Guide To The Galaxy and the Discworld anthology are as rooted in my brain pattern as are the Daleks of Dr Who, or the concept of Grokking from Heinlein's Strangers in a Strange Land - another leak of narrativium into the apparent universe.

I am made of such books. Turn me over, and read on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.