Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Blue

My first Common Blue of the year, in the only reasonably reliable spot to find them locally, the scruffy meadows either side of Bradford Beck behind Shipley Station. Specifically, the bit of meadow that the council currently has up for sale for development.  In the same patch it had a Small Copper, Large and Small Whites and a couple of Small Tortoiseshell to keep it company.

I'd spent most of the day working at home to a marking deadline, another trip out to the dentist being the thing that took me down to Shipley at lunchtime. And I probably shouldn't make any jokes about the dentist being light relief from the marking.

I'm guessing it's been the warmest day of the year so far.

______________

Butterfly Journal 2017


14. 24/05/17 Common Blue, Shipley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.