Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

HOT!

What a scorcher! JR went to the gym, while Archie and I sat in the hot sun in the front garden. I tried out my new sunnies, but Archie wanted to try them too.

I spent quite a bit of the morning sorting out clothes for the trip. It's going to be hot, and I'm not keen on the heat, but I've found some suitable 'outfits', thank goodness. I even found a pair of sandals (which I don't remember buying or ever wearing) and they seemed 'comfy'. I've worn them all day in town with no ill effects, so that's a bonus.

We had some financial business to do in town, and had arranged to bring Archie, but the day was just too hot to make him troop around town. In fact, it was too hot to make me troop around town, but needs must.

We found our destination easily, and popped into a nearby pub as we were a wee bit early (hate being late). I haven't been round that way since they started demolishing the St James centre, so that was interesting to see the progress.

A fruitful meeting, then walked through Princes Street Gardens. It was still very hot, and the place was mobbed. Great to see everyone enjoying themselves. An Asian bride and groom were posing, and the young singer from yesterday was entertaining the crowds. We had an (expensive) ice cream and came home on the bus.

Archie probably slept all afternoon after he'd cleaned out his peanut butter treat bone. We had salad and then strawberries and yoghurt (actually, the strawberries were first) outside in the afternoon sun, while Archie played with his football and refused to fetch it.

Apparently it's to be even hotter tomorrow! Archie doesn't know it yet, but he has a big car journey tomorrow - we're visiting East Lothian, but hopefully it will include a beach visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.