Wild Orchid

I love this time of the year when the dunes wake up from their long winter sleep and you begin to see signs of new growth among the wild flowers. The first ones to show themselves are usually the wild orchids. This was the flower I'd intended to show for the Tiny Tuesday Challenge but all my shots were out of focus as I miss pointed the autofocus on the background between a couple of flowers. This bloom cannot be more than a couple of inches high. I decided to play it safe today and shoot a single bloom as there was less likelihood of messing this up. The one thing I have learnt over the years is the need to do some gardening when taking wild flowers as otherwise you are likely to end up with a light coloured dead grass shooting straight across the image, totally distracting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.