Gull Watch

Today was yet another chance to see how the nesting gulls are progressing. There's not a lot to report so I have not bothered to include an image of them in my main montage (see extra for today's image). I seemed to be a lot more successful today with my strike rate on flying birds no doubt helped greatly by a change of tripod which gave me a far sturdier base. My two flying birds are both herring gulls but one is far older than the other and has fully developed its grey/white plumage whilst the mottled brown one will be only  one or two years old. I

I have also contrasted the nesting habits of the gulls versus the shags. The gulls have fairly flimsy nests of a few dried grasses whilst the shag has a much more substantial nest of twigs and grasses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.