Hot today...

...spent day in back garden.

I was going to paint, but I got a request to do a genealogy investigation for some one. I keep saying I am not going to do anymore. My genealogy subscriptions have run out. So I said I couldn't do it.

The person was very keen for me to do it. They had got absolutely nowhere. They gave me access to their Ancestry and to Find My Past.

Only one definite name born before 2000. And a maybe name for mum and dad, and a brother but just a maybe name. I seriously thought this was hopeless and said so.

If anyone can do this, you can, I was told.

Still very doubtful.

So sitting on my swing going to do a bit of sketching, all my stuff spread out.

Nothing came up on Ancestry. Then went to Find My Past. Very quickly something came up. My eyes widened. Would this fit? Put that info into Ancestry, and something amazing unfolds bit by bit. This was early this morning, and I have been at it all day. It is now early evening. An amazing story is unfolding, the stuff of novels, you couldn't even make this up...it is truly unbelievable.

Then I just realised what am I going to do for my pic today. Well, in the kitchen it was very noisy. The fridge, the kettle and the microwave all going at once. My brain just found it a jumble with this new mapping on my processor. Before it would have been a more blurred noise. But now it is discordant. So I stood by kettle and came up with the noise sketch on the right, then the microwave on the top, and then finally I stood by the fridge.

These are only very quick sketches, but it was a 'feel' of the noise for each sound. Then I was quite surprised, because then my brain could distinguish which sound was which even if they were all together, and my brain began to 'develop' each sound as something individually different. It couldn't do that before.

For some reason all these 'noise' sketches I am doing is helping my brain identify the different sounds.

So this is my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

(By the way I have no idea why this white paper I did the sketch on is so blue....and I took the photo outside on my phone )

Right...now back to this utterly riveting genealogy search...I am going to get some strawberries and cream first...

[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.