Back Yard

As a child I gardened with my Mother, dropping seeds into the ground for a row of delicate sweet peas. She taught me the love of earth and the joy of gardening. I moved into my current home in the seventies and have spent countless hours in my backyard. Over the years I've grown vegetable gardens with a full array of the usual, and flowers to delight the eye. I'm not growing vegetables any more, but I find myself drawn outside in the spring light to cultivate roses and anemone, encourage clematis, drop some nasturtium and poppy seeds in the soil, and prune back the overzealous comfrey. I find a spot for a chair under my enormous Rhododendron where I delight in light upon green and draw and paint in my watercolor journal. What a privilege...such gratitude I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.