"Or On The Rainbow ...."

I have been known to choose clothes, accessories and toe-nail colour to match my vehicles. I remember when my daughter bought her Silverstone S2000 I bought her a pair of shiny silver sandals to wear when driving it. She invited me to join her and her petrolhead friend Geoff at the open day of the garage where our mate James takes his TVR.

She took her silver track car which has a nice flake in the paint but we saw the ultimate in silver cars. It was a Tuscan S finished in Spectraflair Silver, which looks plain until the sun shines. Under today's relentless rays it gleamed with a fantastic, prismatic, rainbow effect. I loved the way my daughter's sun-dress toned with it. 

As usual we enjoyed talking motors. I've always loved TVRs, they're really hairy-chested sportscars and were designed without anti-lock brakes and air bags as Peter Wheeler thought they were safer without. I nearly bought one once but had a test drive in a rainstorm and the salesman couldn't get it to demist. 

Today's poem is Ode on Melancholy by John Keats. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/44478

I like this. It's readable and easy to understand. I'm all for glutting sorrow on a morning rose, rainbow or a peony. Joy and melancholy go hand in hand. Interesting sexual references in this. Evidently Keats stopped eating meat to lessen the "physical torment" of his desire. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.