Orris*

Another hot day so I went out with the camera fairly early. Jazzy heard MrQ start the tractor so deserted me to help him. I took the opportunity of walking round our neighbour's lake. I don't ever take Jazzy with me as I don't want to confuse her. She knows and keeps to the boundaries of our property exactly. 

As I opened the link fence the family of Canada geese goose-stepped towards the water. All six of the goslings have survived. (Extras.) Once they were in I photographed them through a beautiful stand of irises. My granny used to call them flags. It's unusual for me to post a pic of flowers, at least there's a token bee. :)

*I've heard of orris root but have only just read that it is made from the rhizomes of irises. It is used in perfumery and is an ingredient in Bombay Sapphire gin. 

Today's poem is Kid by Simon Armitage. http://year11-englishliterature.blogspot.co.uk/2011/05/why-do-you-think-poem-is-called-kid.html

So that's where "The Boy Wonder" came from. I know nothing of superheroes so a lot of the clever play on words in this is lost on me. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.